Bruce Coats, PhD

Academic Dean

Dr. Coats leads the Academic Advancement department, including oversight of faculty distinction, compelling curriculum, and student success. He shares responsibility for the development of academic collaborative relationships, leads contextualizing theological education, and helps build the community of learners.

David Barbee, PhD

Assistant Professor of Christian Thought | Director of the Master of Arts in Practical Theology Program

— George Fox University, B.A., 2000
— Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, M.A., 2003
— Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, M.A., 2005
— University of Pennsylvania, Ph.D., 2013
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2014

James Sweeney, PhD

J. Russell Bucher Professor of New Testament Studies | Director of the Master of Divinity Program

— Roberts Wesleyan College, B.A., 1989
— Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, M.A., 1993
— Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, Ph.D., 2000
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2010

Karen McGibbon, PhD

Assistant Professor in Clinical Counseling | Practicum & Internship Coordinator Licensed Professional Counselor

— University of the West Indies, B.S., 1990
— St. Stephen’s College, M.A., 2011
— Regent University, Ph.D., 2015
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2017

Kathryn Helleman, DMin

Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program

– The University of Waterloo, B.A., 1990
– Winebrenner Theological Seminary, M.Div., 2006
– Winebrenner Theological Seminary, DMin, 2015

Kelli Jo Arndt, PhD

Professor in Clinical Counseling | Director of the Master of Arts in Clinical Counseling Program

— University of Toledo, B.S., 1987
— Bowling Green State, M.Ed., 1992
— University of Toledo, Ph.D., 2006
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2014

Mary Iiames, PhD

Assistant Professor in Clinical Counseling

— Bluffton College, B.A., 1988
— Bowling Green State University, M.Ed., 1992
— The University of Toledo, Ph.D., 2000
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2017

Senior Fellow Faculty
Emeritus Faculty

John Nissley, DMin

Senior Fellow Faculty

— Pennsylvania State University, B.S., 1974
— Grand Rapids Baptist Seminary, M.R.E., 1983
— Bethel Theological Seminary, D.Min., 2000
— Winebrenner Theological Seminary, M.Div., 2010
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 2000

George Fry, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Church History & Biblical Studies Emeritus

— Capital University, B.A., 1958, B.D., 1962, M.Div., 1977
— Ohio State University, M.A., 1961, Ph.D., 1965
— Winebrenner Theological Seminary, D.Min., 1978
— Cranmer Seminary, D.D., 2001
— Holy Trinity College and Seminary, S.T.M., 2002
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 1999

James L. Resseguie, PhD

Distinguished Professor of New Testament Emeritus

— University of California, Berkeley, A.B., 1967
— Princeton Theological Seminary, M.Div., 1972
— Fuller Theological Seminary, Ph.D., 1978
— Fulbright Fellow, 1990
— Joined Winebrenner Faculty in 1976

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. James Davison, B.A., M.A.(T.S.), D.Min.

Dr. Don Dennison, B.A., M.A.T., M.Div., D.Min.

Marlena Graves, B.A., M.Div.

Dr. Martin Johnson, B.A., M.S., M.Div., D.Min.

Dr. Kim Martinez, B.A, MAT, D.Min.

Dr. William Reist, B.A., M.Div., D.Min.

Dr. Michael A. Scoles, B.A., M.A., M.S.Ed., Ed.D.

Dr. Brent C. Sleasman, B.A., M.Div., Ph.D.

Thomas Weaver, M.Ed., MBA